Red Rooster Harlem

Red Rooster

Red Rooster

Rachel, Russell, Jen

Me, Russell, Jen

At the beginning of February (yes I know this is a very delayed post), my best friend, Jen, and my roommate, Russell, and I went to Red Rooster in Harlem.  Red Rooster (http://redroosterharlem.com) is owned and operated by Marcus Samuelson, a chef who competed on Iron Chef and is a frequent judge on Chopped.  We have a list of restaurants in New York that we are wanting to go to and this was the first one that will get the honor to be blogged about (be on the lookout for more soon!)

I arrived about 45 minutes early and sat down at the bar for a drink.  The atmosphere was very low key and mellow.  I ordered a Red Rooster punch ( red wine, brandy, orange liqueur and lemon) which was delicious.  While I was sitting there, a man sat down next to me and introduced himself as Harold, a man who lived in the area.  He clearly was a regular, he knew the bartender and seemed to know there were special drinks she made.  He told me about Alicia Keys singing the night before and that he had met both Bono and Sting playing downstairs.  He also recommended that we eat downstairs at Ginny’s Supper Club but I knew that Jen (and I was right) would want to eat at the main restaurant.  Russell arrived and Harold took him downstairs to see the nightclub and that’s where we will go next time.

Jen arrived (late but we love her anyway!)  We decided to order several appetizers and share them  Unfortunately I didn’t think about taking pictures until after the main courses arrived so I didn’t get the appetizers.  We ordered deviled eggs made with mayonnaise and chicken skin (yum!), corn bread with honey butter and tomato jam, I loved the honey butter but the tomato jam was too spicy for me; and the mac and cheese with greens.  This was actually a main course but we decided to split it as an appetizer.  Delicious!  So far the meal was off to a fabulous start!

Jen and I decided to split two main courses: Bunny Chow which was a lamb sandwich with an egg, ricotta, oniony relish and tomatoey jam on a sesame bun and smoked salmon with meyer lemon aioli, mustard brussel sprouts, carrots, squash and parsnip.  I originally was planning to eat the lamb and Jen the salmon but we switched pretty quickly.

Smoked Salmon with Lemon Aioli

Smoked Salmon with Lemon Aioli

Both were delicious!

Bunny Chow-no bunnies actually harmed!

Bunny Chow-no bunnies actually harmed!

Russell ate a coconut curry with peas, rice, lentils and pomegranate seeds.  This then got Jen and I started back on a discussion that we started several months ago and we asked the waiter, Aaron.  In his honor I post the following survey:

l=6903665]

Harold then came over to our table to tell us that we made a good decision by sitting upstairs as the band was playing up in the bar.  He said the name of the band.  Here’s what we heard:

Rachel-Brown Rice Band

Jen-Ron Wise Band

Russell-My wife’s band

I was very happy to be right!

Desserts were amazing!  We ordered three and split them: Rooster Mud Pie with mocha ice cream and caramelized bananas, sweet potato doughnuts with rummy whipped cream, and chocolate peppermint truffles.  Russell got a pot of lingonberry tea, Jen got a dark chocolate with cardamom, urfa pepper, cinnamon and orange zest.  I got a white chocolate with coconut milk, lemon grass and basil.  All was excellent!

Rooster Mud Pie

Rooster Mud Pie with mocha ice cream and caramelized bananas

Sweet Potato Doughnuts

Sweet Potato Doughnuts

Chocolate Peppermint Truffle

Chocolate Peppermint Truffle

Dark Chocolate

Dark Chocolate

White Chocolate

White Chocolate

Jen and Russell with Aaron, our server

Jen and Russell with Aaron, our server

This was a fabulous restaurant and we will definitely be going back to Ginny’s Supper Club downstairs as well as the restaurant itself.

Leave a Reply

