Meeting a Culinary Idol

On Monday night I went out to dinner with my usual crew, Jen and Russell.  We went to ABC Kitchen-an amazing restaurant that I will blog about later on.  I was busy taking pictures of the beautiful tableware and the interesting elements of the restaurant when Jen and Russell started poking at me.  Seated at the next table over was my personal culinary idol, Elizabeth Falkner.

For those of you who don’t know, Falkner, has competed on a variety of cooking shows including Top ChefThe Next Iron Chef and Iron Chef: Redemption.  It was during The Next Iron Chef where she came in second to Geoffrey Zakarian that I fell in love with her.  I was devastated to learn that she had restaurants open but only in the Bay Area.  Imagine my thrill when she was on Iron Chef: Redemption (which she was sadly thrown off way too quickly) and I discovered she was opening a restaurant in Brooklyn.  It is high on my list to go to Krescendo, a southern Italian influenced restaurant, although I’ve not gotten the chance to go yet.

I was completely star-struck seeing her and tried to get a picture of her by taking a picture of Jen:

A picture of Jen with Elizabeth Falkner in the background!

A picture of Jen with Elizabeth Falkner in the background!

So clearly that picture didn’t work so well.  Well at a certain point the person she was with left to go to the bathroom or something and I went over and told her what a big fan I was.  Jen came over and took a picture of the two of us.  I told her that I had yet to go to her restaurant but that I really wanted to and that I was blogging and writing about restaurants that I went to.

Me with Elizabeth Falkner

Me with Elizabeth Falkner

Jen did a fabulous job of taking a picture and afterwards, as she was leaving, Elizabeth came over and gave me her card.  I am not generally star-struck by meeting famous people, I also tend to be somewhat oblivious-I’ve only noticed famous people when there is a big crowd (for example I saw Jessica Alba once at a Starbucks in New York but really only because the paparazzi was following her) but Elizabeth Falkner is really someone I admire and feel that she has a unique talent that I would like to emulate.  I hope one day I am half of the amazing and creative chef she is!  She was very gracious and sweet and I very much look forward to eating at her restaurant in the very near future.

One thought on “Meeting a Culinary Idol

Leave a Reply

