Boston

I know that my post for today already went up-I had scheduled earlier and forgot that it was set to go out.  Anytime tragic events happen I struggle.  I struggle as an American, as a Jew, as an Israeli, as a human and as a citizen of this world.  But some events hit me harder than others.  Yesterday’s tragic double bombing in Boston is one of those events.

My family moved to Israel when I was 13 in 1995.  This was considered a relatively peaceful time to move and I struggled the way most adolescents do when they move and learn new languages and all that fun stuff.

When I was 15, I was injured in a triple suicide bombing.  At some point I will blog more extensively about this experience as it has been a very pivotal experience in my life.  But suffice it to say that when bombings happen and I see them portrayed on the news I have a visceral reaction to what happened.  The sights, sounds and smells of that day come rushing back to me and I struggle with refocusing my attention on the task at hand.

Ask anyone who knows me and they will tell you I am a news junkie.  I get CNN breaking news text alerts and watch the news in the morning before work.  When tragedies or large-scale emergencies happen (like hurricane Sandy in New York this past fall) I will spend hours watching the news on replay.

It always takes me a few days to re-calibrate myself and for me to get back into a normal rhythm.  For now my thoughts and prayers are with those in Boston-those killed, their families and those injured-whose life story has now been changed.

4 thoughts on “Boston

  1. I cannot imagine seeing that kind of terror, especially at that young and tender of an age. I also cannot imagine being that plugged in to news….I did that, once, and was horribly depressed and stressed out the entire time. Any tragedy like this is heart-wrending, but it also serves as an example of our nation’s capacity for love, empathy, and compassion in the reactions of its people to the event and the victims. It’s also a reminder to keep each day precious, because these things are always out of left field, unforseen, and unpredictable.

    • Beth-you are absolutely right-it is often stressful to be that plugged into news but I’ve found for me personally it’s the best way to feel better-by knowing what’s going on. I know that man many people cannot be that connected and I completely respect that.

Leave a Reply

