On My Bookshelf: The Alchemist-World Book Night

Hi res WBN logo 2013

I am so excited to be a part of World Book Night for the second year in a row!  World Book Night is an awesome opportunity to get physical books into the hands of people for free!

As much as I love the convenience of my NOOK, I also will always prefer the feel of a solid paper book in my hand.  Last year I was lucky enough to give out the book Little Bee by Chris Cleave-a phenomenally complex and sad book.

This year I am giving out The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho.  I will be honest, I have not read this book in nearly fifteen years but I still remember the feeling I had when I read it.  I read it when I was thirteen and living in Israel.  My best friend at the time was spending the year in Israel with her family and had brought tons of books with them.  I was the lucky recipient of many of these to read.  One of them was The Alchemist.  I devoured the book. I remember vividly the feelings that coursed through me when I read even if I don’t necessarily remember the story (I definitely need to reread the book).  At that time and even now, I have notebooks filled with quotes and sections of books that I love.

I copied two sections of the book into my quote book and spent most of the evening last night looking through all the quote books that I have here with me but couldn’t for the life of me figure out where that particular quote book is.  I guess I am going to have to reread the book and find the sections that spoke so powerfully to me as a thirteen year old girl.

I have multiple copies of the book that I am looking forward to giving out today.  I will be at work and then going to my teaching job on Long Island in the afternoon so definitely many opportunities to interact with and share the magic of reading with some fantastic people!

I would highly encourage getting involved with World Book Night in future years!!

Leave a Reply

