Big News and Life Changes


heart-in-oregon-sticker--19105-456z

I have been living in New York for nearly three years now.  I have only lived on the West Coast, born in Los Angeles, raised in Portland, Oregon (minus four years in Jerusalem during high school) then back to Oregon and California for college and graduate school.  Three years ago I was the Associate Director of an overnight camp which I loved but I had always had a desire to spend some time in New York.  It was a good time, my bestie, Jen had just moved here for work and I felt better knowing that I had a support system here.

I also knew that if I didn’t do it then, the likelihood was that it wasn’t going to happen.  So I found a job and moved out here in August of 2010.  I always came with the mindset that it would work for as long as it worked and then I would figure out the next step.  About a year and a half ago, I switched jobs and became the director of a day camp-a good step for someone who loves camping.

Unfortunately this job was not the dream I thought it was and this week I had to make a very difficult decision and I gave my notice effective May 31st.  This completely turned everything into a tailspin and has pushed me to make the decision to move back to Portland.  I am very excited about this move and although I am sad that this is how things are ending with this camp and this workplace, I feel a sense of relief and a feeling that a burden has been lifted.

So, my time in NYC is ending and my time in Portland is restarting.  I am so lucky to have amazing parents who support me in everything that I do and are helping me as I start this new endeavor in my life.  I have no idea where my next steps will take me but I look forward to finding it out and definitely spending more time on my blog and exploring life!

4 thoughts on “Big News and Life Changes

  1. Good for you! Moving is always a bit of a risk, but living in a different culture enhances your life…and in the end, that’s the point of it! I hope your transition back to Portland goes smoothly and that your dream job is ready and waiting for you. 🙂

    • Thanks! I am so excited to move back home and re-evaluate where things are heading. I hope that now that I will be on the West Coast we can do our coffee roasting tour!

Leave a Reply

