Pompeian Olive Oil BBQ & a New Camera!

Bzz Agent Pompeian Olive Oil

So I mentioned last week that I got this sweet bottle of olive oil through Bzz Agent.  I also got a new camera!!  I am super excited about both.

After some research and consulting with a family friend who is into photography, I chose the Canon T3i Rebel with the 18-125 lens.  So far I haven’t taken it off automatic but I’ll get there soon!

 

Here’s a shot of the new camera:

New Camera

 

My plan is to keep playing around and take some awesome pictures and also probably sign up for a class to learn even more skills.

In the meantime, I decided to use the new camera to take some pictures of my mad grilling skills, jk-I’ve never really grilled before and I’ve certainly never used my parents fancy grill BUT there’s a first time for everything and I’m happy to report that the house and grill are still functioning (well except for the fact that the folks burned up some eggplant last night and almost started a fire but can’t blame me, I wasn’t home!)

So first the caramelizing of the onions.  I don’t know about you but my favorite thing on hamburgers is fancy ingredients and what is more fancy than caramelized onions?  I know most people think it’s a huge pain in the butt and takes forever to caramelize them but they are so good and really it only took me about half an hour.

I broke out my new bottle of olive oil and chopped up an onion and set it on the stove.  I kept the heat at medium, after the olive oil soaked up, I added a bit of water, a pinch of salt and a pinch of sugar and then as the pieces browned, I stirred them a bit.

Caramelized Onion

The process from start to finish.  Pretty easy!  In the meantime, I fired up the grill and I’ll be honest, I cheated a little and bought pre-formed patties from my favorite grocery store in Portland, New Seasons.  I could write a whole post on why I love New Seasons but I’ll save that for another time.

Grill Time

Yum!  At the end I added the onions, tomato, lettuce, a tad of mayo and bbq sauce to my burger on a sourdough bun.  So good!  I also made some corn on the grill but was hungry and didn’t let it stay on long enough so it was a bit crunchier than it should have been but still delicious!  And I have to say, even just using the new camera on automatic still creates much better shots than the iPhone.  That’s not to say I won’t still use my iPhone because it’s convenient and always with me but I am planning to do more with the fancy camera!

 

One thought on “Pompeian Olive Oil BBQ & a New Camera!

Leave a Reply

